Fb has introduced it’s rolling out a brand new view as soon as function that it says will give customers “extra management over their privateness”.
When images and movies are shared on WhatsApp, they’re robotically saved to a recipient’s digicam roll. The view as soon as function permits customers to ship images and movies that disappear from a WhatsApp chat after a recipient has opened it as soon as. Customers will likely be unable to ahead, save, star, or share the media that was despatched as a view as soon as media.
When the media has been seen, the message will seem as “opened”, which Fb mentioned will “assist keep away from any confusion about what was taking place within the chat on the time”. Customers, nonetheless, will solely have the ability to see if a recipient has opened a view as soon as picture or video if they’ve learn receipts turned on.
Media that’s shared utilizing the view as soon as function will likely be marked with a “one-time” icon.
If a view as soon as picture or video is just not opened inside 14 days of being despatched, the media will expire from that chat. Nonetheless, it may be restored from backup if the message is unopened on the time of again up. If the picture or video has already been opened, Fb mentioned the media won’t be included within the backup and can’t be restored.
The corporate assured that like all private messages despatched on WhatsApp, view as soon as media is “protected by the platform’s end-to-end encryption”. However like all encrypted media on WhatsApp, it “could also be saved for a number of weeks on WhatsApp’s servers” after it has been despatched.
“Whereas taking images or movies on our telephones has develop into such a giant a part of our lives, not every part we share must develop into a everlasting digital report. On many telephones, merely taking a photograph means it’s going to take up house in your digicam roll ceaselessly,” the corporate mentioned in a weblog publish.
“That is why immediately we’re rolling out new View As soon as images and movies that disappear from the chat after they have been opened, giving customers much more management over their privateness.
“For instance, you may ship a View As soon as picture of some new garments you are making an attempt on at a retailer, a fast response to a second in time, or one thing delicate like a Wi-Fi password.”
Fb launched an identical function it known as Vanish Mode to Messenger and Instagram on the finish of final yr.